Reviews

You can meet our Critics Panel here!

Want to know about our rating system?


Want to get your show reviewed by the HKELD team? Click here to see the review guidelines.

 

 


Review- Lady Death: Story Of A Female Sniper- KrisP. Productions 28-11-19

​There is much to be unpacked in KrisP. Production’s latest play Lady Death, written and produced by the Russian native Kristina Pakhomova. As the production is still making it’s run, and of course in the interest of not spoiling the fun, we’ll stick to the knee jerk reactions and standard analysis.

more...


Review- Tracks- SAHK Theatre Exchange and Treasure Chest Theatre School 10-11-19

Race and racism are at best touchy subjects, and part of a larger conversation that is likely never to go away. Tracks is a production that tells us about racism’s issues in the long term, even to the extent of affecting future and newer generations.

more...


Review- Underneath The Lintel- Stylus Productions1-11-19

This will be fairly brief and straight forward: One-man shows are challenging. As taxing as performing with others can be, building an aesthetic with the audience on one’s presents very different obstacles entirely.

more...


Review- Secret Theatre Hong Kong5-10-19

Justice meets gameshow in the ambitious courtroom comedy-drama from immersive performance-makers Secret Theatre Hong Kong.

more...


Review- Le Nozze di Figaro- Musica Viva 26-9-19

Hong Kong’s Musica Viva has incrementally moved from one full opera production per year —in December—to two.

more...


Review- L'Orphelin- Théâtre de la Feuille20-9-19

Théâtre de la Feuille brings us the perfect example of the traditional being completely transformed.

more...


Review- The Odyssey Of Little Dragon- Contemporary City Dance Company 18-8-19

Hong Kong has always had a soft spot for Kung Fu legend Bruce Lee; countless have been the movies, exhibitions and artworks dedicated to him, and this time Contemporary City Dance Company pays homage to the ultimate Kung Fu master by honouring his art through an immersive journey called The Odyssey Of Little Dragon, showing at Shatin Town Hall.

more...


Review- The Waiting Room- A Common Collective 11-6-19

I did not mean to attend this show, let alone write the review, and I confess that this may have been because I did not hear anything at all about the show in the first place: not until the evening of its second and last performance, that is.

more...


Review- Don Giovanni- Opera Hong Kong 8-6-19

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart’s Don Giovanni might well be the best opera ever written. Opera Hong Kong’s recent production, with mostly young casts that leaned strongly on local singers, gave a good indication as to why.

more...


Review - Hong Kong Delights: City Contemporary Dance Company & Mr.Quartet8-6-19

I have always loved contemporary dance and since my arrival in Hong Kong, I have followed the City Contemporary Dance Company and their works. I especially love when they collaborate with others to create something new and fresh.

more...


1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9