You can meet our Critics Panel here!

Want to know about our rating system?

Want to get your show reviewed by the HKELD team? Click here to see the review guidelines.



Review- Shukshin’s Stories- Hong Kong Arts Festival1-3-18

Shukshin’s Stories is a dramatisation of eight short stories by Soviet-era writer Vasily Shukshin (1929-74). If you know little or nothing about him or Moscow’s Theatre of Nations which presented it, you would not—at least among English-speakers—be alone and would have had, at least until last night, me as company.


Review- Anna Karenina- Hong Kong Arts Festival 201827-2-18

How does one transform an eight-hundred-page novel with a dozen important characters and several major plot lines into a two-hour staging using only movement and music? You might well ask.


Review- Viewing 4.48- Theatre Du Pif18-12-17

When I entered the cool, dark black box of the Hong Kong Cultural Center’s Studio Theatre, I felt instantly transported to the ghostly inner world of Viewing 4.48’s protagonist. This is Theatre Du Pif’s second take on Sarah Kane’s 4.48 Psychosis, and their experience with the material is clear from the nuanced and precise offering I witnessed on the last evening of their performance.


Review- Urinetown- TheatreLab HK23-11-17

TheatreLab HK proudly presents their first public project, "Urinetown: The Musical", in one of Hong Kong's most sought after performance venues: the McAulay Studio. This seven-performance run of "Urinetown:The Musical" hails from musical theatre royalty.


Review- Lungs- Liki Produksie 16-11-17

As I walked in to take my seat to see LUNGS, I wasn’t sure what to expect. I’d seen some of the promo material but, like many of the performances I review, I had chosen not to read too much about it beforehand. I was curious and, unusually, without much expectation as to the style or content of the production.


Review - Baskerville: A Sherlock Holmes Mystery - Sweet and Sour Productions 21-10-17

One of the most notable quotes of theatre states “… one man in his time plays many parts”. In Ken Ludwig’s Baskerville: A Sherlock Holmes Mystery five men and women play around 40 parts and it is impressive.


Review- Aida- Opera Hong Kong16-10-17

Opera Hong Kong’s recent “Aida” (10-15 October) had enough international stars for an entire constellation. With its famous triumphal march and often over-the-top pageantry, Aida is the grandest of grand opera.


Review- Pageant The Musical- Hong Kong Singers13-10-17

“My face hurts from smiling so much,” says the man behind me as the show finishes and he’s leaving his seat. My sore palms, aching tummy, and coarse throat agree with him in testament of how much I’d clapped, laughed, whopped and hollered throughout the show, and I wouldn’t have had it any other way.


Review - In An Instant - 8/F Platform, Hong Kong Dance Company24-9-17

‘In An Instant’, choreographed by Dorothy Sek, captivated every audience member’s attention from start to finish. The company is known for pushing boundaries and their originality and creativity. They experiment and play with movement to create beautiful visions, and this piece did not disappoint.


Review- The Play That Goes Wrong- Lunchbox Productions22-9-17

This month, Hong Kong is in for a laugh, and The Play That Goes Wrong doesn't have a single still moment in it, nor a moment to relax- the unstoppable flow of comedy is enough to keep the audience on their toes for the whole length of the play.


1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9