Reviews

You can meet our Critics Panel here!

Want to know about our rating system?


Want to get your show reviewed by the HKELD team? Click here to see the review guidelines.

 

 


Review- Urinetown- TheatreLab HK23-11-17

TheatreLab HK proudly presents their first public project, "Urinetown: The Musical", in one of Hong Kong's most sought after performance venues: the McAulay Studio. This seven-performance run of "Urinetown:The Musical" hails from musical theatre royalty.

more...


Review- Lungs- Liki Produksie 16-11-17

As I walked in to take my seat to see LUNGS, I wasn’t sure what to expect. I’d seen some of the promo material but, like many of the performances I review, I had chosen not to read too much about it beforehand. I was curious and, unusually, without much expectation as to the style or content of the production.

more...


Review - Baskerville: A Sherlock Holmes Mystery - Sweet and Sour Productions 21-10-17

One of the most notable quotes of theatre states “… one man in his time plays many parts”. In Ken Ludwig’s Baskerville: A Sherlock Holmes Mystery five men and women play around 40 parts and it is impressive.

more...


Review- Aida- Opera Hong Kong16-10-17

Opera Hong Kong’s recent “Aida” (10-15 October) had enough international stars for an entire constellation. With its famous triumphal march and often over-the-top pageantry, Aida is the grandest of grand opera.

more...


Review- Pageant The Musical- Hong Kong Singers13-10-17

“My face hurts from smiling so much,” says the man behind me as the show finishes and he’s leaving his seat. My sore palms, aching tummy, and coarse throat agree with him in testament of how much I’d clapped, laughed, whopped and hollered throughout the show, and I wouldn’t have had it any other way.

more...


Review - In An Instant - 8/F Platform, Hong Kong Dance Company24-9-17

‘In An Instant’, choreographed by Dorothy Sek, captivated every audience member’s attention from start to finish. The company is known for pushing boundaries and their originality and creativity. They experiment and play with movement to create beautiful visions, and this piece did not disappoint.

more...


Review- The Play That Goes Wrong- Lunchbox Productions22-9-17

This month, Hong Kong is in for a laugh, and The Play That Goes Wrong doesn't have a single still moment in it, nor a moment to relax- the unstoppable flow of comedy is enough to keep the audience on their toes for the whole length of the play.

more...


Review- Suor Angelica & Gianni Schicchi- Opera Hong Kong8-9-17

It was Louise Kwong’s night. The Hong Kong soprano shone in the title role of “Suor Angelica,” the first half of Opera Hong Kong’s summer production of a Puccini double-bill.

more...


Review- La Traviata- More Than Musical21-7-17

“La Traviata” — More than Musical, 17-18 June, ArtisTreeRedeploying opera in new formulas for new audiences can generate howls of protest from die-hard traditionalists, but it’s hard to see what is wrong with it in principle: in the theatre, this sort of thing is done all the time.

more...


Review- The Learned Ladies of Mid-Levels- The Shadow Players 30-6-17

How to be a learned person? Last night at Fringe Club, The Shadow Players “taught” us the importance of unlearning what is (presumed to be) learned, through laughing and a high dose of local stereotypes.

more...


1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9