Reviews

You can meet our Critics Panel here!

Want to know about our rating system?


Want to get your show reviewed by the HKELD team? Click here to see the review guidelines.

 

 


Review- Discord of Discourse- KrisP. Production23-3-19

If you’re looking for an ‘outside of the box’ performance, this performance delivers. KrisP. Productions have produced another original, thought-provoking and intelligent contemporary performance.

more...


Review- Home- Hong Kong Arts Festival18-3-19

Every so often we as theatregoers come across a production that seems almost too deep to comprehend, yet so simple ‘a caveman could do it’. This would be the case for GeoffSobelle’s immaculate production of Home, just staged at the Lyric Theatre space at the Hong Kong APA.

more...


Review- The Nutcracker, by John Neumeier- Hong Kong Arts Festival18-3-19

When I first heard that The Nutcracker was going to be shown at The Hong Kong Arts Festival this year I felt a mix of excitement (as I never get tired of seeing that production) and a tinge of curiosity to see how such a Christmas-oriented show would fit into a springtime schedule.

more...


Review- Madame White Snake- Hong Kong Arts Festival14-3-19

Madame White Snake, composed by Zhou Long to an English-language libretto by Cerise Lim Jacobs and one of the few western operas directly informed by China and with direct Chinese creative input, has just been given its Hong Kong premiere at the 2019 Hong Kong Arts Festival.

more...


Review- Dark Room- KrisP. Production6-3-19

I’ll admit, I was dubious to whether I would enjoy a one-woman show about what I (wrongly) assumed would be someone complaining about their privileged life. Instead, I was engaged, my thoughts were provoked and I felt compassion.

more...


Review- 887 Ex-Machina, by Robert Lepage - Hong Kong Arts Festival4-3-19

How do we define theatre? When it comes to mind, we typically, if not in fact almost usually, think about basically the same thing: Stage, curtains, lights, script, characters, actors/director, etc.

more...


Review- Tannhäuser by Richard Wagner- Oper Leipzig & the Hong Kong Arts Festival4-3-19

Opera is, almost by definition, musical theatre. Sometimes, the emphasis is on the “musical” and sometimes, as with the Calixto Bieito setting of Richard Wagner’s Tannhäuser performed at the Hong Kong Arts Festival by Oper Leipzig, on the “theatre”.

more...


Review- Cloud Gate Dance Theatre of Taiwan The 45th Anniversary Gala Programme Retrospectives of Lin Hwai-min's Works- Hong Kong Arts Festival2-3-19

I have seen great dancers stop time onstage. The complete control they have over every inch of their body, from the tip of their toes to the longest hair of their heads connects in a metaphysical way with the other dancers that seem to possess the same superpower.

more...


Review- The Pride- Aurora Theatre25-2-19

The title of the show, as well as the rainbow-coloured motif in the promotional material, might lead you to expect a run-of-the-mill LGBTIQ rights piece.

more...


Review-Almost 55- City Contemporary Dance Company4-2-19

City Contemporary Dance Company is celebrating not only its 40th anniversary but also its first-ever solo performance, Almost 55. It tells the story of the long-serving dancer of CDCC, Qiao Yang as she reaches the age of 55

more...


1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9