Reviews

You can meet our Critics Panel here!

Want to know about our rating system?


Want to get your show reviewed by the HKELD team? Click here to see the review guidelines.

 

 


Review- FOLK-S: Will you still love me tomorrow?- Hong Kong Arts Festival26-2-16

FOLK-S uses the typical Bavarian and Tyrolean folk dance 'Schuhplattler'. The show description explains that this 'involves striking palms against thighs, legs and shoes, creating percussive sounds and rhythms'. I formed an idea in my minds eye that this might be reminiscent of a show like 'Stomp' and was excited to see the folk dance twist. I was wrong. Very wrong.

more...


Review- Jane Eyre- Hong Kong Arts Festival22-2-16

Jane Eyre, a co-production of Bristol Old Vic and National Theatre of Great Britain; and part of the 44th Hong Kong Arts Festival is an exquisite and mesmerizing panoramic landscape painting of an intensely touching and personal portrait.

more...


Review- La Verita (The Truth)- Hong Kong Arts Festival21-2-16

The Hong Kong Arts Festival is back! We are merely starting our dramatic journey in this 44th season and already its opening show is receiving three encores from its audience. I should know, I was one of them whistling in delight. The spectacular show in question is La Verita from the Compagnia Finzi Pasca and let me tell you this, it was a triumph.

more...


Review- The Vagina Monologues16-2-16

First things first. VAGINA is NOT a bad word. It is a biological term. A medical reality. A reproductive necessity. It is not perverted to say the word or acknowledge its presence. In fact, will all those who don't have a problem with the word in the audience, please raise their hands.

more...


Review- Piff the Magic Dragon- Udderbelly11-2-16

Sometimes you see a performer who is very talented but they're having a bad night. This was the case when I saw Piff the Magic Dragon at the Udderbelly. A bad show can be caused by various factors: technical glitches, performing in a new space, a weird audience vibe or Murphy's Law. With this performance of Breakfast at Piffany's everything that could go wrong did.

more...


Review- Trash Test Dummies- Udderbelly5-2-16

There are thrills, spills and laughs aplenty in this one hour show from Trash Test Dummies. Garbed in traditional construction gear, these guys put on one hell of show that both parents and kids will delight in.

more...


Review- Flawless- Udderbelly3-2-16

‘Chase the dream; not the competition’ (the dance collective’s motto) put a smile on even the notoriously hard to please Simon Cowell’s face, back in 2009, when Flawless fever hit the UK after their first appearance on ‘Britain’s Got Talent’. I’ve been a lover of them since then, and after attending their opening night at Udderbelly last night, I love them even more now!

more...


Review- BRIEFS- Udderbelly27-1-16

BRIEFS is a self-proclaimed Circus, Drag, Burlesque Show that is a part of the ‘Udderbelly Festival’. These boys hail from Down Under but the Udderbelly is an international festival coming to Hong Kong from Edinburgh. They've been set up on the Central Harbourfront since December.

more...


Review- Gestalt- E Side Dance23-1-16

Oh dear ... if I put it blankly. This show certainly didn't turn out as I expected. Now don't get me wrong, I am a fan of contemporary dance shows and my decisions on this review are not based on my own personal preference. It just was, well... meh.

more...


Review- Russell Howard- Udderbelly22-1-16

Russell Howard had a night of firsts. He came and performed in a big purple cow and he absolutely killed it. Russell Howard (for those that don't know...) is a comedian, television and actor. He is best known for his TV show Russell Howard's Good News and his appearances on the topical panel TV show Mock the Week. His humor is fast paced, self-depricating and charming. He is not afraid to talk about any nationality, his own foibles or his beloved family members.

more...


6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14