Reviews

You can meet our Critics Panel here!

Want to know about our rating system?


Want to get your show reviewed by the HKELD team? Click here to see the review guidelines.

 

 


Review- CLOSE UP- Udderbelly20-1-16

This one-hour “circus” show is entitled CLOSE UP. It was then followed with the copy "See. Hear. Feel. Everything." and there was also something about it being a "glorious, chaotic abstraction" and "most intimate show" in the Udderbelly Festival programme. Who wouldn't be intrigued by that?

more...


Review- The Elephant in the Room- Udderbelly18-1-16

The Elephant in The Room is described as a “fusion of world-class circus, film noir and physical theatre." This styled physical act performed by Cirque le Roux seems to be a sober affair, but is instead energizing and exciting.

more...


Review- Inherit the Wind- Aurora Theatre9-1-16

Upon entering the space my attention was immediately drawn to the three large flats, up stage centre, made to resemble church stained glass windows with a large crucifix taking central glory of the beautiful design.

more...


Review- A Simple Space- Udderbelly8-1-16

A Simple Space by Australia's Gravity & Other Myths is like an amalgamation of circus and game show, minus the glitz and glamour but plus loads of child-like energy and enthusiasm.

more...


Review- Dancers' Homework- CCDC3-1-16

I travelled to the CCDC Dance Center in Wong Tai Sin this weekend to see their showcase of new choreographic talent, "Dancers' Homework." For those who had never been to the space before, the location of the theatre was a bit of a challenge. But within this building, there was a small studio performance space that was perfect for this type of show.

more...


Review- Gobsmacked- Udderbelly30-12-15

Gobsmacked. Flabbergasted. Spellboundtasticated.

more...


Review- Brainiac Live!- Udderbelly30-12-15

I'm not the typical viewer of Brainiac. I'm out of middle school, I'm horrible at science and I've never seen the TV show this stage version is based on. When you walked into the Udderbelly, you were handed earplugs and warned about the possibilities of explosions and gases that might cause the audience to have to flee the building. Sounds like great fun, yes?

more...


Review- Cirque Adrenaline- The Club24-12-15

If you need a reminder not to overindulge this Christmas or need some motivation to keep the new fitness regime you’ve vowed this New Years get yourself down to Cirque Adrenaline! Last night I attended the Gala Premiere of the ‘Death-Defying Extreme Circus’ and my goodness those performers were FIT!! They were agile, they’ve had stamina and their strength was unbelievable.

more...


Review- The Beautiful Ones- Rooftop Productions21-12-15

As a part site-specific performance based on the ‘Mouse Utopia’ experiment of the 60’s, I was intrigued to see The Beautiful Ones. I had vaguely heard of the experiment before and was in a conundrum as to whether or not I should research into it further before watching the show...

more...


Review-Nutcracker-Hong Kong Ballet21-12-15

Tonight I was invited to the opening of Hong Kong Ballet's The Nutcracker. It's been quite the buzz around town due to the publicity brought about on the "reinvention" they're doing to the piece. Hong Kong Ballet chose to do away with some of the traditional choreography in Nutcracker and update the classic. They also brought in a brand new set and costumes. I had the pleasure of sitting between two Nutcracker virgins tonight.

more...


7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15