Reviews

You can meet our Critics Panel here!

Want to know about our rating system?


Want to get your show reviewed by the HKELD team? Click here to see the review guidelines.

 

 


Review- I Am NOT a Butoh Artist- HKPFF14-12-15

Butoh is a really interesting style of performance. For those that have never seen it before it can be a bit jarring at times. This is why I'm always interested in going to see performances when I have a chance. Butoh is an avant-garde style of theatre that has its origins in Japan.

more...


Review- Soledad- CCDC12-12-15

The latest CCDC grand production, Soledad, is a long-awaited stage adaption inspired by the Nobel literature prize winner Gabriel Garcia Marquez’s masterpiece novel, One Hundred Years of Solitude. Collaborated between two prominent artists, local choreographer Helen Lai and British-Hong Kong artist Peter Suart, the dance theatre production was greeted with a full-house on its inaugural night.

more...


Review- General Hua Mulan- AFTEC5-12-15

In Search of Justice and Righteousness is the gloriously bold sub-heading for General Hua Mulan. This production supports this statement with a powerhouse performance from The Absolutely Fabulous Theatre Connection and the students of Bravo!

more...


Review- The Wilderness- HKAPA21-11-15

The Wilderness is the result of a collaborative effort by a huge team of HKAPA School of drama students, and what is first a family drama with hints of underlying tension then becomes a tragedy of consequence. Chou Hu, a wrongly imprisoned escapee returns to his homeland seeking revenge on the corrupt tyrant who put him there. When he discovers that his fiancée has been married off to his adopted brother, it sets the wheels of tragedy and revenge in motion.

more...


Review- BEEP- Black Sheep Theatre20-11-15

As a millennial, I often get the short end of the stick when it comes to people posing questions such as “Has technology gone too far in Hong Kong?” which is a question asked in BEEP, a devised production by Black Sheep Theatre. I was especially impressed with the way that this production was created from the ground up, as this entire play is a result of the entire cast collaboratively exploring the directorial potential of a single word – Beep.

more...


Review- The Overcoat- Theatre du Pif17-11-15

The Overcoat is an adaptation of a short story of the same name, written by Ukrainian-born Russian dramatist and novelist Nikolai Gogol. This piece, performed dutifully by the company- 'Theatre du pif' will be performed as part of a school tour. Let me just say this; I hope the youngins appreciate what they're watching (I don't remember having such intense and well-tuned school hall plays when I was a child) but I digress.

more...


Review- The Rainbow Connection- Pink Season13-11-15

On Tuesday I had the pleasure of attending and reviewing The Rainbow Connection for Pink Season. Co-Produced by HKELD's own maestro, Meaghan McGurgan, I was going into the production with my harshest critical eye. She told me to hold nothing back because even though her performers were volunteers, they could take a note.

more...


Review- Invisible Cities- Zuni Icosahedron7-11-15

Can you hear? Can you hear me? Can you hear yourself? I want to communicate with you. The people of Hong Kong want to communicate with you…

more...


Review- Love Pings- I AM9-10-15

What would happen if someone could see every whatsapp, skype, email and SMS you've received and sent over the last year? What would happen if they saw all the drunken texts, the booty calls, the dishonest I'm-not-feeling-wells and sorry-something-came-ups?

more...


Review- Choreographers' Showcase- Hong Kong Ballet5-10-15

I had the pleasure of seeing Hong Kong Ballet's latest show over the weekend. The Choreographers’ Showcase serves as a platform for Hong Kong Ballet dancers to present their creativity, ideas and accumulated dance experience.

more...


8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16