Reviews

You can meet our Critics Panel here!

Want to know about our rating system?


Want to get your show reviewed by the HKELD team? Click here to see the review guidelines.

 

 


Review- Invisible Cities- Zuni Icosahedron7-11-15

Can you hear? Can you hear me? Can you hear yourself? I want to communicate with you. The people of Hong Kong want to communicate with you…

more...


Review- Love Pings- I AM9-10-15

What would happen if someone could see every whatsapp, skype, email and SMS you've received and sent over the last year? What would happen if they saw all the drunken texts, the booty calls, the dishonest I'm-not-feeling-wells and sorry-something-came-ups?

more...


Review- Choreographers' Showcase- Hong Kong Ballet5-10-15

I had the pleasure of seeing Hong Kong Ballet's latest show over the weekend. The Choreographers’ Showcase serves as a platform for Hong Kong Ballet dancers to present their creativity, ideas and accumulated dance experience.

more...


Review- Singin' in the Rain- Lunchbox Productions27-9-15

It was all too fitting last night that amber rain warnings were being announced while Singin' in the Rain splashed into town.

more...


Review- The Waste Land- The Shadow Players24-9-15

To hear that there shall be a dramatic performance of T.S Eliot's The Waste Land is a rarity. The Waste Land has been deemed one of the most influential poems of the 20th century and whilst its influence upon the literary world is unquestionable, it has often been considered too difficult to perform. Its vast array of characters, scenarios and sequences which feature a diverse assortment of languages have scared away many a confident performer.

more...


Review- Eureka- CCDC21-9-15

The title 'Eureka' brings strong connotations and expectations, (and this is before even entering the performance). This word: 'Eureka' suggests that I will leaving with a sense of understanding, clarity and ultimately a concept of the show which I will view for a little under two hours. Did I achieve this moment of enlightenment? I'll return to this later.

more...


Review- La Soiree- Lunchbox Productions17-9-15

In a combination of circus, cabaret and burlesque that has been running since its creation at Edinburgh Fringe, La Soiree swung into Hong Kong last night. I found it enjoyable, the cast talented, but sometimes their use of camp a little over the top.

more...


Review- The Amazing Bubble Man- Lunchbox Productions17-9-15

This is not the first time I’ve seen The Amazing Bubble Man. I saw him three years ago on his first tour to Hong Kong. This show was similar to his previous run, but not exactly the same, which I appreciated

more...


Review- Freespace Happening- WKCD11-8-15

Freespace Happening is a showcase of Hong Kong’s local talent in the great outdoors. Well, close enough… West Kowloon Cultural District. Outdoor art events in Hong Kong are few and far between and I was happy to see that this event was about promoting local artists and making art affordable and accessible. Each Freespace Happening will feature music, handicraft market, street performances and a selection of special attractions and take place on the second sunday of each month.

more...


Live with Lizzy!- Outlook Festival Launch Party10-8-15

One of our fabulous critics, Laurella Jose, loves hearing live music and seeing local bands play. We've had the demand to cover the music scene in Hong Kong for years but didn't have a passionate, music lover with the skills to take it on. We present a new series to HKELD, called Live with Lizzy!

more...


9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17