Reviews

You can meet our Critics Panel here!

Want to know about our rating system?


Want to get your show reviewed by the HKELD team? Click here to see the review guidelines.

 

 


Review- Life. in Hong Kong- We Draman Theatre3-8-15

Mime. What thoughts crop into your mind? A strange French clown with a white painted face and a lipstick smile? A cartoon-esque cartoon of buffoonery and nuisance? As these images spring into your head, I would like us to focus on the key elements that mime will always include: control, story-telling and imagination. Prepare yourself to have your previous expectations revived.

more...


Review-Breakfast at Tiffany's12-7-15

Holly Golightly is one of those literary characters that academic folks love to talk about since she isn't as cut and dried as she initially appears. She might first seem like a party girl with no substance, who cares only about money and about finding the next fun thing, but if we spend a little time with her we see that there's a lot more there. It is the story of a young woman in World War II era New York who hobnobs with famous people, gets into a lot of trouble, and breaks many hearts along the way, all while struggling to find her place in the world. And it's one of Truman Capote's most famous works, due in large part to the film adaptation of it. Everything about Breakfast at Tiffany’s has become culturally iconic and is sure to last the test of time.

more...


Review- Ultraheroes Acrobattle- Dorian Concert Group11-7-15

I loved superheroes as a kid. I wanted to be one. I used to tie a blanket around my neck and fly around the living room. When I was given an opportunity to review a superhero show, I was really excited. Ultraheroes Acrobattle has a ton of potential for a show. It had the ability to take superheroes and bring them to life for young audiences. I was probably the only person there without a kid, but I could tell that even the kids watching were less than impressed with what I saw.

more...


Review- Wall- CCDC5-7-15

Having read the programme prior to seeing it, I made out that Wall was a piece about how cold-hearted place Hong Kong is and how it seems the city lights are powered by indifference and claustrophobia, at times.

more...


Review- 365 Ways of Doing and Undoing Orientalism- CCDC27-6-15

Postulated by Edward Said, the prominent literary critic of post-colonialism, Orientalism is a European invention of the colonizers to define the East as its contrasting image. As the most recurring images of Orientalism are often associated with notions as primitive, romantic, exotic, mysterious, and subservient, to undo these colonial stereotypes means to present an alternative image to the listed characteristics. CCDC pulled off this concept with brilliant witticism.

more...


Review- Refugees of the Septic Heart- Tom Dale Company22-6-15

Formed in 2001, Tom Dale Company has established itself as belonging to the new wave of artists testing the boundaries of contemporary dance practice. TDC creates collaborative performances, with a particular focus on the synergy between electronic music, the digital arts and dance.

more...


Review- On the Way to the Front- Le French May20-6-15

On the Way to the Front brings together artists from Asian People’s Theatre Festival Society and Théâtre de l’Ordinaire in a theatre performance that combines mask work, live music, movement, juggling and stories from the East and West. It reveals the tragic moments that made up the grand history between the Chinese and French last century.

more...


Review- The Legend of Mulan- Hong Kong Dance Company13-6-15

Based on the famous folklore of one of China’s most iconic historic heroines, Mulan by the Hong Kong Dance Company was a captivating dance drama that told the legend of Mulan in beautiful choreography, seamless storytelling, and visually arresting production. Director and Choreographer Yang Yuntao continues to impress with his work and I can now call myself a fan.

more...


Review- Letters to the Beloved- Perilous Mouths6-6-15

When was the last time you looked at your pocket change? Really gave it a good once over. The change that we handle daily is paid little heed, seen it, dealt with it, handled it, paid whatever with it. Familiarity of the common currency in use breeds complacency.

more...


Review- Legally Blonde, the Musical- Face Productions5-6-15

Face Productions brings us another fun-filled musical from Broadway to allow our local talent to show their skills and entertain. I was part of the audience for last year’s Footloose and loved the energy of the cast. This year’s production was no less energetic and they were clearly dedicated to delivering a great show.

more...


11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18 | 19