Reviews

You can meet our Critics Panel here!

Want to know about our rating system?


Want to get your show reviewed by the HKELD team? Click here to see the review guidelines.

 

 


Review- Figaro- Aurora Theatre5-6-15

Opening with a sultry Argentine Tango by Sirio Dance Studio that leads into an hour and a half of humour, social commentary and vivid characters, Aurora Theatre’s production of Figaro directed by Nicole Garbellini and Vanessa Noble didn't have a dull moment onstage or off. (The fun spills over into the intermission!).

more...


Review- Doubt: A Parable- Sweet & Sour Productions4-6-15

If ‘satisfaction is a vice’, as Sister Aloysius says, then I have found a new vice. I expected to be impressed with this play having heard so many positive things from last year’s run but I was not expecting to be blown away with everything about the play!

more...


Review- Peel Street Poetry28-5-15

Orange Peel is a hip nightclub in the middle of Lan Kwai Fong. You wouldn’t know it at first glance but this place is a mecca for poetry every Wednesday night. I was invited to see Peel Street Poetry, a performance group that has been bringing poetry jams to Hong Kong for years. It was exciting to see a new type of show, something casual and it didn’t hurt that the price was free. (Just buy a drink to support the bar!)

more...


Review- Order and Chaos- Liars' League27-5-15

This is my first time attending Liars’ League. I heard about it when I lived in New York but have never been. I was excited to see that Hong Kong had its own version and travelled out to XXX in Kennedy Town to see the show. For newbies to HK, like myself, this part of HK is a bit unfamiliar and hard to navigate but luckily I found the venue pretty quickly. The venue was full of art and story lovers. It was so nice to see a group of people like that on Monday night!

more...


Review- Boy Story/Reborn- Unlock Dancing Plaza25-5-15

I went into Boy Story/Reborn not knowing what to expect. I haven’t seen much modern dance in Hong Kong but by reading the program, I came to learn that Yuri Ng is one of our city’s most cherished and prolific choreographers of recent years.

more...


Review- Ivor Gurney, A Voice Apart- Fringe Club22-5-15

Ivor Gurney is an English poet-composer who fought in World War I. After being wounded and gassed, he was sent to Stone House Mental Hospital in 1922 and struggled with post-war trauma in the last 15 years of his life in psychiatric hospitals before dying of tuberculosis aged just 47. His fame only came posthumously. In Penguin Classics' 2012 anthology Three Poets of the First World War, he is featured along with Wilfred Owen and Isaac Rosenberg. In 2014, Tim Kendall filmed a documentary on him titled Ivor Gurney, the Poet Who Loved the War for BBC4.

more...


Review- The Sound of Music- Lunchbox Productions18-5-15

This is definitely one of my favourite things in Hong Kong this year!

more...


Review- Mother Matters- Apple Pie Productions11-5-15

"Oh!... They did it again. They played with your heart, got lost in the game…"

more...


Review- Assassins- Hong Kong Singers and Perilous Mouths9-5-15

A joint production between Perilous Mouths Entertainment and the Hong Kong Singers brings us a production of Assassins directed by Clare Stearns and Forrest Morr - a musical by Stephen Sondheim and John Weidman about the nine men and women who have attempted presidential assassination.

more...


Review-The Land of Smiles- Opera Hong Kong8-5-15

The Land of Smiles is a strange opera. It's based on the Chinese principle of smiling through life, no matter what happens. Written by Austrian composers Franz Lehar, Ludwig Herzer and Fritz Löhner-Beda, it's a short piece about East meets West love but lacks many authentic feelings in the dialogue. It's a Chinois piece, so felt at times like a Western country playing Asian and at times came across very dated in the same way Flower Drum Song does.

more...


12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18 | 19 | 20