Reviews

You can meet our Critics Panel here!

Want to know about our rating system?


Want to get your show reviewed by the HKELD team? Click here to see the review guidelines.

 

 


Review - Pelleas & Melisande - Welsh National Opera - Hong Kong Arts Festival 23-3-18

Not all operas or performances are about the singers. The star of the Welsh National Opera’s Pelléas et Mélisande at the Hong Kong Arts Festival was its orchestra and conductor Lothar Koenigs who did Claude Debussy’s seamless score proud.

more...


Review - Closer - Sweet and Sour Productions 23-3-18

Patrick Marber’s ‘Closer’ is acknowledged as a modern classic. Aside from getting the Mike Nichols Hollywood treatment in 2004, the play has been presented in hundreds of cities around the world (and almost as many languages) since its National Theatre premiere in 1997 London.

more...


Review- Shukshin’s Stories- Hong Kong Arts Festival1-3-18

Shukshin’s Stories is a dramatisation of eight short stories by Soviet-era writer Vasily Shukshin (1929-74). If you know little or nothing about him or Moscow’s Theatre of Nations which presented it, you would not—at least among English-speakers—be alone and would have had, at least until last night, me as company.

more...


Review- Anna Karenina- Hong Kong Arts Festival 201827-2-18

How does one transform an eight-hundred-page novel with a dozen important characters and several major plot lines into a two-hour staging using only movement and music? You might well ask.

more...


Review- Viewing 4.48- Theatre Du Pif18-12-17

When I entered the cool, dark black box of the Hong Kong Cultural Center’s Studio Theatre, I felt instantly transported to the ghostly inner world of Viewing 4.48’s protagonist. This is Theatre Du Pif’s second take on Sarah Kane’s 4.48 Psychosis, and their experience with the material is clear from the nuanced and precise offering I witnessed on the last evening of their performance.

more...


Review- Urinetown- TheatreLab HK23-11-17

TheatreLab HK proudly presents their first public project, "Urinetown: The Musical", in one of Hong Kong's most sought after performance venues: the McAulay Studio. This seven-performance run of "Urinetown:The Musical" hails from musical theatre royalty.

more...


Review- Lungs- Liki Produksie 16-11-17

As I walked in to take my seat to see LUNGS, I wasn’t sure what to expect. I’d seen some of the promo material but, like many of the performances I review, I had chosen not to read too much about it beforehand. I was curious and, unusually, without much expectation as to the style or content of the production.

more...


Review - Baskerville: A Sherlock Holmes Mystery - Sweet and Sour Productions 21-10-17

One of the most notable quotes of theatre states “… one man in his time plays many parts”. In Ken Ludwig’s Baskerville: A Sherlock Holmes Mystery five men and women play around 40 parts and it is impressive.

more...


Review- Aida- Opera Hong Kong16-10-17

Opera Hong Kong’s recent “Aida” (10-15 October) had enough international stars for an entire constellation. With its famous triumphal march and often over-the-top pageantry, Aida is the grandest of grand opera.

more...


Review- Pageant The Musical- Hong Kong Singers13-10-17

“My face hurts from smiling so much,” says the man behind me as the show finishes and he’s leaving his seat. My sore palms, aching tummy, and coarse throat agree with him in testament of how much I’d clapped, laughed, whopped and hollered throughout the show, and I wouldn’t have had it any other way.

more...


1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9