Reviews

You can meet our Critics Panel here!

Want to know about our rating system?


Want to get your show reviewed by the HKELD team? Click here to see the review guidelines.

 

 


Review- Hamlet, Prince of Denmark- Hong Kong Arts Festival12-3-19

It is hard to make a review of The Tragedy of Hamlet, Prince of Denmark without going to common places; asking why the director chose this emblematic play that contains the most transcending lines ever written, or how this version is not like any other versions or how they are all the same.

more...


Review- Dark Room- KrisP. Production6-3-19

I’ll admit, I was dubious to whether I would enjoy a one-woman show about what I (wrongly) assumed would be someone complaining about their privileged life. Instead, I was engaged, my thoughts were provoked and I felt compassion.

more...


Review- 887 Ex-Machina, by Robert Lepage - Hong Kong Arts Festival4-3-19

How do we define theatre? When it comes to mind, we typically, if not in fact almost usually, think about basically the same thing: Stage, curtains, lights, script, characters, actors/director, etc.

more...


Review- Tannhäuser by Richard Wagner- Oper Leipzig & the Hong Kong Arts Festival4-3-19

Opera is, almost by definition, musical theatre. Sometimes, the emphasis is on the “musical” and sometimes, as with the Calixto Bieito setting of Richard Wagner’s Tannhäuser performed at the Hong Kong Arts Festival by Oper Leipzig, on the “theatre”.

more...


Review- Cloud Gate Dance Theatre of Taiwan The 45th Anniversary Gala Programme Retrospectives of Lin Hwai-min's Works- Hong Kong Arts Festival2-3-19

I have seen great dancers stop time onstage. The complete control they have over every inch of their body, from the tip of their toes to the longest hair of their heads connects in a metaphysical way with the other dancers that seem to possess the same superpower.

more...


Review- Touching The Void- The Bristol Old Vic and Hong Kong Arts Festival1-3-19

Something unbelievable happens when humans find themselves under extreme duress. As Sigmund Freud put it, the preservation muscle is the strongest muscle in the homo sapiens; when facing heavy situations, human bodies turn into survival mode and almost inevitably human minds begin to wander in the back of our memories and imagination, finding themselves in a place similar to a dream.

more...


Review- The Pride- Aurora Theatre25-2-19

The title of the show, as well as the rainbow-coloured motif in the promotional material, might lead you to expect a run-of-the-mill LGBTIQ rights piece.

more...


Review-Almost 55- City Contemporary Dance Company4-2-19

City Contemporary Dance Company is celebrating not only its 40th anniversary but also its first-ever solo performance, Almost 55. It tells the story of the long-serving dancer of CDCC, Qiao Yang as she reaches the age of 55

more...


Review- 2019 Dancers Homework- City Contemporary Dance Company21-1-19

2019 Dancers’ Homework showcased four new pieces from four emerging CCDC artists, Shirley Lok, Ivan Chan, Lee Ka-ki and Terry Tsang.

more...


Review- Madama Butterfly- Musica Viva12-12-18

Opera plots can often strain credulity; Giacomo Puccini’s Madama Butterfly, on the other hand, cuts close to the bone.

more...


1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9