Reviews

You can meet our Critics Panel here!

Want to know about our rating system?


Want to get your show reviewed by the HKELD team? Click here to see the review guidelines.

 

 


Review- Hansel and Gretel- HKU28-2-17

Hansel and Gretel is a late 19th-century German opera by Engelbert Humperdinck; its debut was in 1893 was conducted by Richard Strauss. This is not quite what is being presented by the HKU Black Box in their current production.

more...


Stereoptik-Dark Circus24-2-17

Dark Circus is a masterpiece. Based on an original story by Pierre-Elie Ferrier, STEREOPTIK founders Jean-Baptiste Maillet and Romain Bermond have created a piece defying plausibility. How can the transcendent Dark Circus be carried on by just two performers?

more...


Review: The Crucible - Aurora Theatre17-2-17

“If we had no Defects of our own, we should not take half so much Satisfaction in observing those of other People.” - La Rochefocauld (1613-1680) “I speak my own sins; I cannot judge another. I have no tongue for it.” – Act 4

more...


Review- The Ritz-Diamond- Gabriella So24-1-17

The Ritz Diamond is the solo work of actor Gabriella So, recently returning from performances at international festivals in New York and the UK, and she certainly has an impressive track record for a young artist. Named as an homage to F. Scott Fitzgerald’s short story, this new one-woman play by So focuses on the lives and loves of Kismine and Jasmine, two sisters from an extremely wealthy family.

more...


Review- Carmen- Musica Viva19-12-16

One can be pretty safe recommending George Bizet’s Carmen: it may be“Opera”, but it is also popular musical theatre, with tunes you can hum and melodies that can get stuck in your head. Just about everybody knows some music from it, whether the so-called “Toreador Song” (“Dum-dee-da-dum-dum, dum-dee-da-dee-dum”), or Carmen’s “Habanera” (“Dum-dee-dum, dee-dum-dum-dum”).

more...


Review- Wicked- Lunchbox Productions16-12-16

Thirteen years after its first opening in San Francisco, Wicked is still going strong, and this fantastic musical from the West End is now gracing Hong Kong. Acclaimed as "wicked and wonderful vision of Oz", and "pure magic", Wicked is one of the most successful musicals of all time. Based on the novel written by Gregory Maguire that plays with a re-imagination of "The Wonderful Wizard of Oz", Wicked narrates an untold story of acceptance, friendships and family ties.

more...


Review- All in the Timing- CSR Theatre9-12-16

Some plays are performed in grand stately theatres, the audience in their Sunday best, and on their best behaviour. CSR's 'All in the Timing', though, well...

more...


Review- The Next Door- Hong Kong Theatre Association6-12-16

We live in a hyperconnected world in which we let algorithms decide everything for us, from the music we listen to or the movies watched, to the people we date. It seems we don’t trust a film if Netflix doesn’t recommend it to us, or listen to a song if it does not appear in Spotify’s Discover. And the dating world seems to be heading towards the same direction with a growing number of apps that apply filters and filters of compatibility tests.

more...


Review- The Elephant Song- Sweet & Sour Productions1-12-16

Candice Moore and Sweet and Sour Productions are back in town! I was very excited to be reviewing this play as I remember feeling a tad jealous that it was being put on in the U.K., so I was delighted to have the opportunity to see this in Hong Kong. Having been impressed with the movie, which nobody apparently had seen apart from me, I was intrigued to see how the twists and turns could be portrayed on stage.

more...


Review- Crystal- Dino Mahoney27-11-16

A toxic relationship is always painful, no matter the sexual orientation of those who go through it. Very often one of the couple gets more injured than the other and even more often that individual is left there to do most of the work: pick up the mess, restore oneself, learn one's lesson and move on. But can anybody really move on?

more...


1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9