Reviews

You can meet our Critics Panel here!

Want to know about our rating system?


Want to get your show reviewed by the HKELD team? Click here to see the review guidelines.

 

 


Review-The Beauty Queen of Leenane- Hong Kong Arts Festival17-3-17

Set in the Irish countryside in the mid-nineties, The Beauty Queen of Leenane is a dark comedy written by Martin McDonagh and presented in Hong Kong by Irish touring production Druid.

more...


Pina Bausch- Cafe' Muller and The Rite of Spring- Hong Kong Arts Festival 14-3-17

Over the last 45 years, Pina Bausch has become a point of reference in art, performance and dance for people all around the world. They have written essays, memoirs, reviews and articles on her work; she has inspired dancers and musicians; and in 2011 Wim Wenders made her a tribute through the Academy nominated documentary: Pina.

more...


Review- Emir Kusturika and The No Smoking Orchestra- Hong Kong Arts Festival10-3-17

As I walked into the auditorium of The Hong Kong Cultural Centre the other night, I found myself physically and mentally exhausted after a very intense day. I kept asking myself how on earth would I possibly be fit to review a show if I struggle to walk straight? As it was too late to pull out I put myself together and walked into the Concert Hall.

more...


Review: Floating Family- Hong Kong Arts Festival9-3-17

It’s Hong Kong Arts Festival and the hype is particularly high for Loon Man-Hong’s Floating Family trilogy. An epic undertaking, Loon has penned three distinct plays following the lives of one Hong Kong family over 20 years before and after Handover. Following all three produced this year we immerse ourselves in the family’s world, but each stands alone as a snapshot into a decade, and its zeitgeist.

more...


Review- Franky- AFTEC7-3-17

For years, AFTEC has done a splendid job in Hong Kong promoting theatre and involving the youth in it. This year as part of their program “From Page to Stage”, they bring Franky, a reinterpretation of Merry Shelly’s Frankenstein. The company will have done 29 performance to schools and two public shows, making theatre more accessible to Hong Kong middle and high school students.

more...


Review- Les Ballets Jazz de Montreal- Hong Kong Arts Festival 4-3-17

The first thing I noticed when I looked at the programme was how "recent" the works will be presented are. The oldest was created in 2012, and the latest was just created last year. Now that is very exciting! I have never seen Canada's Les Ballets Jazz de Montreal before, but definitely, like what the company name evokes and was looking forward to seeing it.

more...


Review- Hansel and Gretel- HKU28-2-17

Hansel and Gretel is a late 19th-century German opera by Engelbert Humperdinck; its debut was in 1893 was conducted by Richard Strauss. This is not quite what is being presented by the HKU Black Box in their current production.

more...


Stereoptik-Dark Circus24-2-17

Dark Circus is a masterpiece. Based on an original story by Pierre-Elie Ferrier, STEREOPTIK founders Jean-Baptiste Maillet and Romain Bermond have created a piece defying plausibility. How can the transcendent Dark Circus be carried on by just two performers?

more...


Review: The Crucible - Aurora Theatre17-2-17

“If we had no Defects of our own, we should not take half so much Satisfaction in observing those of other People.” - La Rochefocauld (1613-1680) “I speak my own sins; I cannot judge another. I have no tongue for it.” – Act 4

more...


Review- The Ritz-Diamond- Gabriella So24-1-17

The Ritz Diamond is the solo work of actor Gabriella So, recently returning from performances at international festivals in New York and the UK, and she certainly has an impressive track record for a young artist. Named as an homage to F. Scott Fitzgerald’s short story, this new one-woman play by So focuses on the lives and loves of Kismine and Jasmine, two sisters from an extremely wealthy family.

more...


3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11