Reviews

You can meet our Critics Panel here!

Want to know about our rating system?


Want to get your show reviewed by the HKELD team? Click here to see the review guidelines.

 

 


Review- Rufus Wainwright- Hong Kong Arts Festival2-3-16

Having recently moved to Hong Kong I was very intrigued to go not only to hear the velvet tones of Rufus Wainwright but to experience the Hong Kong Cultural Centre Concert Hall for the very first time.

more...


Review- Dream of the Past: Ancient Chinese Court Dances- Hong Kong Dance Company28-2-16

An evocative journey into Ancient Chinese Culture. Dream of the Past: Ancient Chinese Court Dances explores the ceremonies and dances that were performed in and around the imperial courts during it’s Golden age.

more...


Review- Compagnie 111: What's Become of You?- Hong Kong Arts Festival28-2-16

Compagnie 111’s What’s Become of You? (Questcequetudeviens?) is a piece by Aurelien Bory for Stephanie Fuster. Part of the 44th Hong Kong Arts Festival, this work was rich in imagery and visually dramatic. Everything about it seems to be just right, whether it is the space, the time or the concept.

more...


Review- Scent of Ink- Hong Kong Arts Festival27-2-16

Minimalism, purity, harmony. These three words would be my top picks to sum up every aspect of the National Dance Company of Korea’s “Scent of Ink”.

more...


Review- FOLK-S: Will you still love me tomorrow?- Hong Kong Arts Festival26-2-16

FOLK-S uses the typical Bavarian and Tyrolean folk dance 'Schuhplattler'. The show description explains that this 'involves striking palms against thighs, legs and shoes, creating percussive sounds and rhythms'. I formed an idea in my minds eye that this might be reminiscent of a show like 'Stomp' and was excited to see the folk dance twist. I was wrong. Very wrong.

more...


Review- Jane Eyre- Hong Kong Arts Festival22-2-16

Jane Eyre, a co-production of Bristol Old Vic and National Theatre of Great Britain; and part of the 44th Hong Kong Arts Festival is an exquisite and mesmerizing panoramic landscape painting of an intensely touching and personal portrait.

more...


Review- La Verita (The Truth)- Hong Kong Arts Festival21-2-16

The Hong Kong Arts Festival is back! We are merely starting our dramatic journey in this 44th season and already its opening show is receiving three encores from its audience. I should know, I was one of them whistling in delight. The spectacular show in question is La Verita from the Compagnia Finzi Pasca and let me tell you this, it was a triumph.

more...


Review- The Vagina Monologues16-2-16

First things first. VAGINA is NOT a bad word. It is a biological term. A medical reality. A reproductive necessity. It is not perverted to say the word or acknowledge its presence. In fact, will all those who don't have a problem with the word in the audience, please raise their hands.

more...


Review- Piff the Magic Dragon- Udderbelly11-2-16

Sometimes you see a performer who is very talented but they're having a bad night. This was the case when I saw Piff the Magic Dragon at the Udderbelly. A bad show can be caused by various factors: technical glitches, performing in a new space, a weird audience vibe or Murphy's Law. With this performance of Breakfast at Piffany's everything that could go wrong did.

more...


Review- Trash Test Dummies- Udderbelly5-2-16

There are thrills, spills and laughs aplenty in this one hour show from Trash Test Dummies. Garbed in traditional construction gear, these guys put on one hell of show that both parents and kids will delight in.

more...


4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12