Reviews

You can meet our Critics Panel here!

Want to know about our rating system?


Want to get your show reviewed by the HKELD team? Click here to see the review guidelines.

 

 


Review- Carmen- Musica Viva19-12-16

One can be pretty safe recommending George Bizet’s Carmen: it may be“Opera”, but it is also popular musical theatre, with tunes you can hum and melodies that can get stuck in your head. Just about everybody knows some music from it, whether the so-called “Toreador Song” (“Dum-dee-da-dum-dum, dum-dee-da-dee-dum”), or Carmen’s “Habanera” (“Dum-dee-dum, dee-dum-dum-dum”).

more...


Review- Wicked- Lunchbox Productions16-12-16

Thirteen years after its first opening in San Francisco, Wicked is still going strong, and this fantastic musical from the West End is now gracing Hong Kong. Acclaimed as "wicked and wonderful vision of Oz", and "pure magic", Wicked is one of the most successful musicals of all time. Based on the novel written by Gregory Maguire that plays with a re-imagination of "The Wonderful Wizard of Oz", Wicked narrates an untold story of acceptance, friendships and family ties.

more...


Review- All in the Timing- CSR Theatre9-12-16

Some plays are performed in grand stately theatres, the audience in their Sunday best, and on their best behaviour. CSR's 'All in the Timing', though, well...

more...


Review- The Next Door- Hong Kong Theatre Association6-12-16

We live in a hyperconnected world in which we let algorithms decide everything for us, from the music we listen to or the movies watched, to the people we date. It seems we don’t trust a film if Netflix doesn’t recommend it to us, or listen to a song if it does not appear in Spotify’s Discover. And the dating world seems to be heading towards the same direction with a growing number of apps that apply filters and filters of compatibility tests.

more...


Review- The Elephant Song- Sweet & Sour Productions1-12-16

Candice Moore and Sweet and Sour Productions are back in town! I was very excited to be reviewing this play as I remember feeling a tad jealous that it was being put on in the U.K., so I was delighted to have the opportunity to see this in Hong Kong. Having been impressed with the movie, which nobody apparently had seen apart from me, I was intrigued to see how the twists and turns could be portrayed on stage.

more...


Review- Crystal- Dino Mahoney27-11-16

A toxic relationship is always painful, no matter the sexual orientation of those who go through it. Very often one of the couple gets more injured than the other and even more often that individual is left there to do most of the work: pick up the mess, restore oneself, learn one's lesson and move on. But can anybody really move on?

more...


Contemporary Dance Showcase: Asian-Male Episode 7’ presented by E-Side Dance Company.9-11-16

Last night I was invited to review ‘Contemporary Dance Showcase: Asian-Male Episode 7’ presented by E-Side Dance Company. The showcase comprised of a series of 6 short pieces of work from various male choreographers who all performed their own work.

more...


Review- Twelfth Night- AFTEC26-10-16

A shipwreck takes Viola to Illyria where she is forced to dress as a man and act as Cesario to be Duke Orsino’s servant, who she ends up falling in love with. However, he sends her to say sweet words on his behalf to Olivia who falls for Cesario. If the situation doesn’t seem messy enough, imagine what happens when Viola’s twin brother arrives.

more...


Review- Otello- Opera Hong Kong14-10-16

Opera Hong Kong is closing out its commemoration of the 400th anniversary of the death of William Shakespeare with a new production of Giuseppe Verdi’s “Otello” which runs through Sunday at the Cultural Centre.

more...


Review- The Importance of Being Earnest- Shadow Players16-9-16

How can you compress the grandness of Oscar Wilde’s Victorian England to the confines of Hong Kong? The Shadow Players beautifully showed the local audience how to do it. The minimalist set took nothing away from the play, in fact, it allowed for the characters and their varied personalities to shine even more.

more...


4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12