Reviews

You can meet our Critics Panel here!

Want to know about our rating system?


Want to get your show reviewed by the HKELD team? Click here to see the review guidelines.

 

 


Review- Piff the Magic Dragon- Udderbelly11-2-16

Sometimes you see a performer who is very talented but they're having a bad night. This was the case when I saw Piff the Magic Dragon at the Udderbelly. A bad show can be caused by various factors: technical glitches, performing in a new space, a weird audience vibe or Murphy's Law. With this performance of Breakfast at Piffany's everything that could go wrong did.

more...


Review- Trash Test Dummies- Udderbelly5-2-16

There are thrills, spills and laughs aplenty in this one hour show from Trash Test Dummies. Garbed in traditional construction gear, these guys put on one hell of show that both parents and kids will delight in.

more...


Review- Flawless- Udderbelly3-2-16

‘Chase the dream; not the competition’ (the dance collective’s motto) put a smile on even the notoriously hard to please Simon Cowell’s face, back in 2009, when Flawless fever hit the UK after their first appearance on ‘Britain’s Got Talent’. I’ve been a lover of them since then, and after attending their opening night at Udderbelly last night, I love them even more now!

more...


Review- BRIEFS- Udderbelly27-1-16

BRIEFS is a self-proclaimed Circus, Drag, Burlesque Show that is a part of the ‘Udderbelly Festival’. These boys hail from Down Under but the Udderbelly is an international festival coming to Hong Kong from Edinburgh. They've been set up on the Central Harbourfront since December.

more...


Review- Gestalt- E Side Dance23-1-16

Oh dear ... if I put it blankly. This show certainly didn't turn out as I expected. Now don't get me wrong, I am a fan of contemporary dance shows and my decisions on this review are not based on my own personal preference. It just was, well... meh.

more...


Review- Russell Howard- Udderbelly22-1-16

Russell Howard had a night of firsts. He came and performed in a big purple cow and he absolutely killed it. Russell Howard (for those that don't know...) is a comedian, television and actor. He is best known for his TV show Russell Howard's Good News and his appearances on the topical panel TV show Mock the Week. His humor is fast paced, self-depricating and charming. He is not afraid to talk about any nationality, his own foibles or his beloved family members.

more...


Review- CLOSE UP- Udderbelly20-1-16

This one-hour “circus” show is entitled CLOSE UP. It was then followed with the copy "See. Hear. Feel. Everything." and there was also something about it being a "glorious, chaotic abstraction" and "most intimate show" in the Udderbelly Festival programme. Who wouldn't be intrigued by that?

more...


Review- The Elephant in the Room- Udderbelly18-1-16

The Elephant in The Room is described as a “fusion of world-class circus, film noir and physical theatre." This styled physical act performed by Cirque le Roux seems to be a sober affair, but is instead energizing and exciting.

more...


Review- Inherit the Wind- Aurora Theatre9-1-16

Upon entering the space my attention was immediately drawn to the three large flats, up stage centre, made to resemble church stained glass windows with a large crucifix taking central glory of the beautiful design.

more...


Review- A Simple Space- Udderbelly8-1-16

A Simple Space by Australia's Gravity & Other Myths is like an amalgamation of circus and game show, minus the glitz and glamour but plus loads of child-like energy and enthusiasm.

more...


5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13