Search

Review- Fragile Beauty- CCDC4-6-16

Fragile Beauty tells the story of Hong Kong, taking you through the changes the city has seen over the years through modern dance. Indeed, from choreographer Sang Jijia’s perspective, the city has seen many changes over the thirteen years he has been gone and this 75 minute dance piece takes you through the personal and political journey the city and its people have experienced.

more...

Preview- Chitty Chitty Bang Bang- Face Productions31-5-16

Who didn't love this movie growing up?

more...

Preview- Fragile Beauty- CCDC27-5-16

CCDC is proud to present a new production Fragile Beauty next week at the Kwai Tsing Theatre. Their next production is choreographed by Sang Jijia, with Dickson Dee as composer and inspired by fireworks. Sang was inspired by the "nature of glorious yet ephemeral fireworks."

more...

A "Charmant" Chat with Western District24-5-16

This Friday, Western District will be taking the stage at the Fringe Club Dairy Bar for a performance called Moments Musicaux with Western District. Partnering with the annual celebration of all things Francais, Le French May, Moments Musicaux will be a full review of music from the land of berets and cheese. With Sophia Yan on piano, Monica Johnston on violin/viola, Aniela Emma Chaudhuri on violin and the vocal stylings of Joyce Wah-Sheung Wong, the night will take us through a variety of songs sure to please all.

more...

Review- The Last Five Years- Aurora Theatre20-5-16

I'm a big fan of The Last Five Years. I've seen it several times. I even saw a lesbian production in Austin a few years ago. I know this musical and love it. Writing about a show you've seen many times is always harder than a new experience. But as usual, I'll do my best to see this production with new eyes and through the vision of the director, Marek Steenkamp.

more...

Preview- The Last Five Years- Aurora Theatre11-5-16

Local theatre company Aurora Theatre is working on The Last Five Years, which opens next week at the Fringe Club. Producer of the show, Nicole Garbellini is thrilled to be producing Aurora's first musical. "I'm positive that people will love it and they'll certainly relate to it."

more...

Review- Mother Matters- Apple Pie Productions8-5-16

The quintessential elements of home life - motherhood and apple pie -also make for a delightful and heartfelt evening of performance and celebration. Mother Matters by Apple Pie Productions certainly delivers in bringing thirteen monologues and ensemble pieces to life with engaging and heartfelt performances, nourishing our souls and our stomachs with servings of apple pie.

more...

Review- Swan Lake on Ice- Lunchbox Productions28-4-16

A beautiful blending of classical and contemporary artistry, Swan Lake on Ice takes you on visual and visceral journey.

more...

Review- A Tale of Two Cities: Blood for Blood- Chung Ying Theatre24-4-16

A darkened stage. Dozens of identical chairs, row by row. Leather shoes, broken and new. Low hanging lamps casting shadows and the occasional warm pools of light. A single chair suspended from the ceiling. An amphitheatre with an atmosphere of anticipation. Welcome to John Holloways reimagining of one of Charles Dickens' most prolific texts.

more...

Review- John & Jen- Western District22-4-16

This endearing musical has its Asian premiere in Hong Kong's very own Fringe Club. John & Jen is based upon the lives of two siblings and their relationship, which spans through the complexity of a changing America between the 1950's and 1990's

more...

9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17