Search

Review- The Curious Incident of The Dog In The Nighttime- Hong Kong Arts Festival15-4-18

Being a parent can be hard. Being the parent of a special needs child can be harder.

more...

Review- Whipped Cream- American Ballet Theatre- Hong Kong Arts Festival 20184-4-18

Under Kevin McKenzie’s artistic direction, The American Ballet Theatre takes us on a whimsical adventure where a boy with a sweet spot for whipped cream indulges in gluttony and gets sent to the hospital.

more...

Review- The Suppliant Women- Hong Kong Arts Festival25-3-18

A strong message is carried all throughout the performance of The Suppliant Women, currently showing at the Hong Kong Arts Festival.

more...

Review - Pelleas & Melisande - Welsh National Opera - Hong Kong Arts Festival 23-3-18

Not all operas or performances are about the singers. The star of the Welsh National Opera’s Pelléas et Mélisande at the Hong Kong Arts Festival was its orchestra and conductor Lothar Koenigs who did Claude Debussy’s seamless score proud.

more...

Review - Closer - Sweet and Sour Productions 23-3-18

Patrick Marber’s ‘Closer’ is acknowledged as a modern classic. Aside from getting the Mike Nichols Hollywood treatment in 2004, the play has been presented in hundreds of cities around the world (and almost as many languages) since its National Theatre premiere in 1997 London.

more...

Preview- Closer- Sweet and Sour Productions5-3-18

Closer, the latest Sweet and Sour Productions' show, opens this Saturday. The team is once more led by director Candice Moore; before we check out the play, we are curious to hear from the actors and their leader how they put everything together and we look forward to seeing them all in action.

more...

Review- Shukshin’s Stories- Hong Kong Arts Festival1-3-18

Shukshin’s Stories is a dramatisation of eight short stories by Soviet-era writer Vasily Shukshin (1929-74). If you know little or nothing about him or Moscow’s Theatre of Nations which presented it, you would not—at least among English-speakers—be alone and would have had, at least until last night, me as company.

more...

Review- Anna Karenina- Hong Kong Arts Festival 201827-2-18

How does one transform an eight-hundred-page novel with a dozen important characters and several major plot lines into a two-hour staging using only movement and music? You might well ask.

more...

Preview- A Night On Broadway- Dove Tales Theatre Company and TheatreLab HK12-1-18

The new year has brought us cool, crisp weather to begin with. The best way to keep us warm? Checking out hot shows! Theatrelab HK and Dove Tales Theatre Company bring us something really unique this month, as they are presenting, after their public stage debut Urinetown, their latest production A Night On Broadway.

more...

Review- Viewing 4.48- Theatre Du Pif18-12-17

When I entered the cool, dark black box of the Hong Kong Cultural Center’s Studio Theatre, I felt instantly transported to the ghostly inner world of Viewing 4.48’s protagonist. This is Theatre Du Pif’s second take on Sarah Kane’s 4.48 Psychosis, and their experience with the material is clear from the nuanced and precise offering I witnessed on the last evening of their performance.

more...

2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10