Search

Review- Viewing 4.48- Theatre Du Pif18-12-17

When I entered the cool, dark black box of the Hong Kong Cultural Center’s Studio Theatre, I felt instantly transported to the ghostly inner world of Viewing 4.48’s protagonist. This is Theatre Du Pif’s second take on Sarah Kane’s 4.48 Psychosis, and their experience with the material is clear from the nuanced and precise offering I witnessed on the last evening of their performance.

more...

Preview- Beauty And The Beast- Drama School Hong Kong 8-12-17

December is an exciting time, not only for family celebrations and festivities but theatre productions too, especially when they capture the holiday spirit, famous fairy tales and young talents.

more...

Review- Urinetown- TheatreLab HK23-11-17

TheatreLab HK proudly presents their first public project, "Urinetown: The Musical", in one of Hong Kong's most sought after performance venues: the McAulay Studio. This seven-performance run of "Urinetown:The Musical" hails from musical theatre royalty.

more...

Preview- Urinetown- TheatreLab HK16-11-17

TheatreLab HK is debuting onstage next week with the musical Urinetown. Written by Mark Hollmann and Greg Kotis, it premiered in 2001 at New York International Fringe Festival; the musical is a satirical comedy that pinpoints the flaws of the legal system, capitalism, social irresponsibility, and bureaucracy.

more...

Preview- Lungs- Liki Produksie8-11-17

It doesn't happen too often in Hong Kong to find theatrical work performed in languages other than English or Chinese. Therefore, when a group dares to take a production to a different level and share its native culture with the rest of the world, we are entirely eager to find out more about it.

more...

Review - Baskerville: A Sherlock Holmes Mystery - Sweet and Sour Productions 21-10-17

One of the most notable quotes of theatre states “… one man in his time plays many parts”. In Ken Ludwig’s Baskerville: A Sherlock Holmes Mystery five men and women play around 40 parts and it is impressive.

more...

Review- Aida- Opera Hong Kong16-10-17

Opera Hong Kong’s recent “Aida” (10-15 October) had enough international stars for an entire constellation. With its famous triumphal march and often over-the-top pageantry, Aida is the grandest of grand opera.

more...

Review- Pageant The Musical- Hong Kong Singers13-10-17

“My face hurts from smiling so much,” says the man behind me as the show finishes and he’s leaving his seat. My sore palms, aching tummy, and coarse throat agree with him in testament of how much I’d clapped, laughed, whopped and hollered throughout the show, and I wouldn’t have had it any other way.

more...

Preview- Baskerville: A Sherlock Holmes Mystery12-10-17

Sweet & Sour is back on stage after a little break since The Elephant Song. This time artistic director Candice Moore has opted for something a little different and certainly more light-hearted, but surely a pillar of British culture. Her team is looking forward to entertaining you all with Baskerville: A Sherlock Holmes Mystery.

more...

Review- Suor Angelica & Gianni Schicchi- Opera Hong Kong8-9-17

It was Louise Kwong’s night. The Hong Kong soprano shone in the title role of “Suor Angelica,” the first half of Opera Hong Kong’s summer production of a Puccini double-bill.

more...

3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11