Search

Review - Pelleas & Melisande - Welsh National Opera - Hong Kong Arts Festival 23-3-18

Not all operas or performances are about the singers. The star of the Welsh National Opera’s Pelléas et Mélisande at the Hong Kong Arts Festival was its orchestra and conductor Lothar Koenigs who did Claude Debussy’s seamless score proud.

more...

Review - Closer - Sweet and Sour Productions 23-3-18

Patrick Marber’s ‘Closer’ is acknowledged as a modern classic. Aside from getting the Mike Nichols Hollywood treatment in 2004, the play has been presented in hundreds of cities around the world (and almost as many languages) since its National Theatre premiere in 1997 London.

more...

Review- Urinetown- TheatreLab HK23-11-17

TheatreLab HK proudly presents their first public project, "Urinetown: The Musical", in one of Hong Kong's most sought after performance venues: the McAulay Studio. This seven-performance run of "Urinetown:The Musical" hails from musical theatre royalty.

more...

Review - Baskerville: A Sherlock Holmes Mystery - Sweet and Sour Productions 21-10-17

One of the most notable quotes of theatre states “… one man in his time plays many parts”. In Ken Ludwig’s Baskerville: A Sherlock Holmes Mystery five men and women play around 40 parts and it is impressive.

more...

Review - Why Not Kill Us All? - CCDC1-6-17

The concept of this piece is, as stated by Bruce Wong himself: "Fear and violence are inseparable. Violence does not solve anything but it is a release of fear...."

more...

Review- Les Ballets Jazz de Montreal- Hong Kong Arts Festival 4-3-17

The first thing I noticed when I looked at the programme was how "recent" the works will be presented are. The oldest was created in 2012, and the latest was just created last year. Now that is very exciting! I have never seen Canada's Les Ballets Jazz de Montreal before, but definitely, like what the company name evokes and was looking forward to seeing it.

more...

Best Show (Musical)13-9-16

Music, passion, emotions, high energy, heart and soul. The perfect essential elements for a successful musical.

more...

Nominees- Best Show (Non-Musical)12-9-16

A production involves a lot of elements, not only technical but emotional too. Putting together a group of people requires heart, mind and soul. These are the shows that were, throughout the year, the most memorable.

more...

Nominees- Best Actress9-9-16

These are the ladies who graced the stage with their beautiful and magnetic presence and performance.

more...

Nominees- Best Actor 9-9-16

We watched shows where we couldn't take our eyes off the lead actors for their charisma, stage presence and their flawless interpretation of their characters. These talented performers shined through their performance and elevated the show they acted into the next level.

more...

1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9